Sunday, July 01, 2007

Lindstrom & Prins Thomas - Essential Mix 5.06.07

Lindstrom and Prins Thomas, Essential Mix for BBC's Radio 1 May 6, 2007 (YSI link) setlist in comments

Mang, it's been a nerve-wracking time lately at Pound for Pound, as I'm sure you can tell from the slower posting and lack of quality. I'm happy to report that things are back on track and ready for straight lift-off. Nothing but green lights, for me. After so much stress and worrying, all I really want to listen to is beautiful, shimmering music that makes me think of sunsets and crisp fall days and holding hands with your girl and that peak moment at a party when everything seems so perfect and right.

I can't think of artists today who ellicit those feelings so consistently and perfectly than Lindstrom and Prins Thomas, the Norwegian producers/DJs who have been dropping some of the hottest tracks and remixes with their updated disco sound. I've done a post or two on their music, although their label asked that we not do that in the future. Politely. Well, here's your chance to hear an amazing two-hour long DJ set from their May 6th Essential Mix for Pete Tong's BBC Radio 1 show, which should give you a sense of the sorts of influences the boys have and what they are currently listening to as well. Perhaps more than any other Essential mix we've posted here, this one seems to simulate the club experience, with a relentless buildup, peak and then a more varied closedown. There's very little vocals on any of this, but I do hope that this doesn't dissuade anyone from d/ling nd listening; this is shimmering, gorgeous disco-house music.

1 comment:

Charlie B said...

Al Usher ‘Her Today’ (Misericord)
Aeroplane ‘Aeroplane’ (Eskimo)
Lindstrøm & Solale ‘Let It Happen’ (Azuli)
In Flagranti ‘Bipolar’ (Codek)
No Theory ‘Devils Dance’ (Sin&Soul)
Lindstrøm ‘Musikal Overtones’ (Feedelity)
Sneak Thief G-String Orchestra ‘My Sullen Mistress’ (Klakson)
Ytre Rymden Dansskola ‘Kjappfot(PT Edit)’ (Full Pupp)
Runaway ‘Shadows’ (Wurst)
Max Mohr ‘Assonja Swynja’ (Playhouse)
Dettman Vs.Moroder ‘Quicksand/Utopia Mash’ (White Label)
Faze Action ‘Stratus Energy’ (White Label)
M-D-Emm ‘Get Acidic’ (Transmat)
Centrific ‘Somebody Went To Detroit And All I Got Was The Itchy Hawtins’ (Drop Bass Network)
Fleetwood Mac ‘You Make Lovin' Fun (Trailmix)’ (White Label)
M E ‘Rnb Drunkie’ (Golf Channel)
Wild Rumpus ‘Musical Blaze Up (Rub & Tug Bitches Remix)’ (Bitches Brew)
Chairmen Of The Board ‘Party’ (Invictus)
(Interlude) Rare Earth ‘Get Ready(Live Version)’ (EMI/Motown)
Niagara ‘Sangandongo Part 1’ (White Label)
Solomun & Stimming ‘Eiszauber(Diynamic’ (White Label)
Still Going ‘Still Going Theme’ (DFA)
Lindstrøm ‘Contemporary Fix (Bjørn Torske Remix)’ (Smalltown Supersound)
Nick Chacona ‘Mariacha’ (Internasjonal)
Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas ‘Nummer Fire En’ (Short Edit)